Our History

Welcome to the history page of Villaggio Sant’Antonio,
where we celebrate the rich heritage and collaborative spirit that have shaped our retirement village.
Discover the inspiring journey from its inception to the thriving community it is today.

The Inspiration Behind

Villaggio Sant'Antonio

The facility is managed and run by paid personnel in conjunction with community support under the direction of the Board of Villaggio Italiano Limited.

Directors of the Board are elected annually by members of Villaggio Italiano Limited during the Annual General Meeting.

Villaggio Sant’ Antonio was a project initially envisaged by a small group of members of the Italian community of Canberra. The aim of the project was to establish a retirement village for aged members of that community. It was built and completed with the donations and efforts of the Italian community and other benefactors from Canberra, Goulburn, Queanbeyan, Cooma, Batlow and the Federal Government.

The facility opened in 1992 and has since grown to accommodate residents of many diverse cultures and social backgrounds, making Villaggio Sant’ Antonio a truly multi-cultural community.

Villaggio Sant'Antonio

Enhancing Quality of Life

The Residential Aged Care Facility provides accommodation for 110 residents, offering an ageing in place service. The total number of beds includes a 19 bed Dementia Specific Unit (The Lodge) that opened in June 2005 and 6 respite beds. The facility also includes 60 co-located Independent Living Villas.

Trained persons are employed to co-ordinate and run various programs and provide for the variety of residents’ needs. Volunteers assist with provision and co-ordination of recreational and fund-raising activities.

Employees of Villaggio Sant’ Antonio are strongly committed to provide a high-quality lifestyle for all residents of the facility. The motto adopted by the organisation is: Serenitas in Occaso (Serenity at Dusk)

We have a newly formed Board sub-committee: Honours, Recognition, and Special Projects Committee. Further information on recognising past members will be available into the future.